Dog Brothers

First let’s distinguish “Dog Brothers” (DB) and  “Dog Brothers Martial Arts” (DBMA).

For one we have the “Dog Brothers” a company of stick fighters (aka “the band of sweaty, smelly, psychopaths with sticks”). These stick fighters meet and fight at their “Dog Brother Gathering of the Pack”. Everyone who is interested to fight with weapons is welcome, no matter from what martial art he/she comes from.

To become a “Dog Brother” one has to be admitted into the “Tribe”. To be accepted as a tribe member one has to fight at Gatherings. The first level is “Dog”, this can be achieved after participating in about 3 Gatherings in which the aspirant has fought several times each. If the “Council of Elders” like the fighter and recognize his/her potential, the odds are that he/she ascend further to “Candidate Dog Brother” and later to “Full Dog Brother”, and gets his/her personal nickname.

DBMA however is a martial arts style founded by guro “Crafty Dog”. The influence of various martial arts and the experience of countless RCSF fights, led Guro “Crafty Dog” to originate this style in the mid-nineties. More about DBMA → here

It’s possible to train and learn DBMA without fighting at Gatherings. On the other hand it is not necessary to train DBMA in order to fight at a Gathering.

Dog Brothers

Unterscheiden wir zuerst einmal zwischen den Dog Brothers (DB) und  Dog Brothers Martial Arts (DBMA).

Mit den “Dog Brothers” haben wir Freunde des Stockkampfes die sich unter möglichst realitätsnahen Bedingungen im “Real Contact Stick Fighting” (RCSF) testen wollen. Dies tun sie an sogenannten “Dog Brother Gathering of the Pack”. Jeder Waffenkämpfer egal aus welcher Kampfkunstrichtung ist willkommen an einem Gathering zu kämpfen.

Um ein “Dog Brother” zu werden muss man in den “Tribe” aufgenommen werden. Dies geschieht in verschiedenen Schritten. Um als “Dog” aufgenommen zu werden benötigt es in der Regel etwa 3 Gatherings an denen jedes Mal mehrere Kämpfe gemacht werden. Wenn dem “Council of Elders” (ältesten Rat) ein Kämpfer gut gefällt, sie (und er selbst) sein Potenzial erkennen, besteht die Möglichkeit zuerst “Candidate Dog Brother” und später “Full Dog Brother” zu werden. Hierbei wird ihm sein eigener Spitznamen gegeben.

DBMA dagegen ist ein eigener Kampfkunststil, gegründet durch Guro “Crafty Dog”. Der Einfluss verschiedenster Kampfkünste und die Erfahrung aus unzähligen RCSF Kämpfen, veranlassten Guro “Crafty Dog” Mitte der neunziger diesen Stil zu entwickeln. Mehr über DBMA  → hier

Es ist möglich DBMA zu trainieren ohne an Gatherings zu kämpfen. Auf der anderen Seite ist es nicht zwingend DBMA zu trainieren um an einem Gathering zu kämpfen.